For her birthday dessert, my friend asked for something “not chocolate, maybe with berries”. And this is what I came up with:

I used my favorite coffee cake batter and fresh strawberries, topped with hazelnuts (my signature). They are absolutely wonderful straight from the oven.

Recipe: Strawberry Surprise

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter large muffin pan and dust with flour, or insert paper liners*.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together, then set aside:
    1. 2 cups all purpose flour (or half ap and half whole wheat flour)
    2. 1 t. baking soda
    3. 1 t. baking powder
  3. In a large bowl, cream together:
    1. 1 cup sugar
    2. 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  4. Add, one at a time, to butter mixture:
    1. 2  large eggs
  5. Add flour mixture, mix until smooth.
  6. Add to mixture:
    1. 1 cup sour cream
    2. 1 t. vanilla extract
  7. Stir until just smooth, being careful not to over mix. 
  8. Fill muffin cups about half way.
  9. Insert in batter:
    1. 1 medium hulled strawberry per cup (6 hulled strawberries total)
  10. Cover with remaining batter.
  11. Mix together and sprinkle over muffin tops:
    1. 1/4 cup crushed roasted hazelnuts (or preferred nut)
    2. 2 t. cinnamon
    3. 1/4 cup brown sugar
    4. 2 T. melted butter
  12. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted draws out clean.

* Liners for the larger muffin tins are difficult to find, so I make my own using parchment paper. Details to come, when I’m not too muffined out to make more.

