Yesterday, my friend dragged me to BananaRepublic. (Yeah, this is after she declared me ‘gronola’ and taunted me saying “crunch, crunch”. Not sure why everybody thinks I’m granola. I’m not even sure exactly what that is supposed to mean. )

And I actually found some interesting things to preoccupy myself with while she surfed the sale rack.

Exhibit A) Pleated Bodice:

I am fascinated by this and practically pulled it apart in the store trying to figure out how they made it. In my world of amateur sewing there are only three ways of making a bodice: darts, princess seams, or gathers. Initially, I thought that there would be some sort of hidden dart or princess seam, but I could find no evidence of it.

In any case, we decided that it must be impossible for any ‘real’ woman to wear this as my friend doesn’t have enough chest to hold it up and I have too much chest for it to hold me up. I’ll stick to pleats on purses and elsewhere.

Exhibit B) Speaking of pleats:

This dress reminds me of the one that I’ve been drafting, only without the pleats. I’ve wanted to add some embroidery to my dress, but couldn’t decide what would be appropriate. Now that I see this dress, I have an idea as to what I’m going to do.

In completely unrelated news, I am slowly adding things to my blog. I’ve posted a few more links, mostly crafty, but with a few geeky things thrown in for good measure. I also have a nifty widget from librarything.com that shows some of the books I’m reading right now. (I’m firmly against monogamous reading.)

