Have I mentioned how much I love the Lady of Jazz, Ella Fitzgerald? For a very long time, Billie Holiday held the number one spot on my top jazzists list, but since I have been listening to The Essential Ella, Ella’s taken first.

It’s really difficult to keep focused on my to-do list with the sun shining and birds singing right outside my window. After brunch yesterday, I took a bike ride down the Sammamish River Trail. Of about 70 photos, only three were acceptable. I particularly love the geese:


Today, my birthday dress is on the machine. After drafting and re-drafting it, I decided to go with Butterick B5028. I normally avoid patterns at all costs, but I want to embroider this dress and only have four days before the Big Two-Six (AGH!). So it’s back to sew I go (that was rather seussical).

