Firstly, I’d like to point you in the direction of the Thrift Thursday flickr group, where I’ve just posted pics from last weekend (the ones that I blogged here yesterday).

This morning, I woke with the birds. Bright. And. Early. 4am! My body wants to complain now, but actually, a nice, peaceful time was had. I didn’t get out of bed until 9am, mind you, but I sat there listening to the quiet city, amplified because every window in the house is open, and thought. It’s not often that I get the chance to think without the thought going straight to the proverbial paper. (Paper now proverbial?) What I mean by this ramble is that I like morning time. Unfortunately, I also like late night time. Maybe I just don’t like sleep.

Last evening yet another trip to the library was had, to pick up a few reserved books that had arrived. I now have in my possession;

  • Sew U: I’m glad that I finally checked this out from the library. I’ve thumbed through it a few times and was wavering (oscillating, heh) over whether it needed to be added to my bookshelf or not, but now that I have read it, I’m certain it would be a valuable addition.
  • Simple Indian Cookery: Oh, Madhur Jaffrey! This is going to be an Indian Summer for sure!
  • 18th Century Embroidery Techniques: This is the surprise of the list. It has been quite the inspiration. I had not seen examples of pulled thread work before and had not realized its potential, but I’m now eager to learn more.

From the previous library trip, I still have;

  • Anansi Boys: I have a friend who is a Fan of Neil Gaiman, but I’ve never read anything from him. Wow. I’m about 3/4 through the book and thats all I can say; wow.
  • Climbing the Mango Trees: More Madhur!
  • Judaikitsch: The tiny book that brings you such concoctions as Jewshi (Gefilte Sushi!), Beer can shabbos candle sticks, and a Neil Tzedakah box. I definitely need to own this book.

Happy Last Day of May!

