I must apologize for my unintentional lapse in posting. Has it really been three weeks? Wow. I wish that I had some exciting excuse about how we decided to jet off to some tropical island or another, but alas my life is not quite so interesting. No, my days have been filled primarily more mundane events; reading tons of blogs and books, studying, and playing Sims2 or Civ. Crafty inspiration has been lacking, despite a concerted effort by the craftosphere, and thus my toy box has only collected dust these past weeks.

Even cooking has been somewhat a chore lately. Maybe the honeymoon phase of cohabitation is waning? I used to take such pride in my meals, but it’s been difficult to even gather the energy to cook and so we’ve resorted to take out more than once. Of course, the fact that it was so hot around here the past few weeks also didn’t help. Now that it’s raining again, I’m wanting to cook and experiment. Wednesday I raided my cookbook stash for something new, something that did not involve chicken and rice. What I found was Klops (sweet and sour meatballs) from The World of Jewish Cooking.

Recipe Klops:

  • 1 lb ground beef (or turkey, chicken, lamb…)
  • 1 large yellow onion, about 1/4 minced or shredded, the rest chopped
  • 1/4 c water
  • 1/4 c matza meal or bread crumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 c boiling water
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 4 T lemon juice
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
  1. Form the meatballs: In a large bowl mix meat, minced onion, 1/4 c water, and egg. With wet hands, form small balls out of mixture, approximately 1″ in diameter. Set aside.
  2. Sauce: In a large saucepan, heat sugar over low heat until light brown. Slowly add boiling water until all sugar is dissolved. Stir in remaining ingredients and bring to a simmer.
  3. Add meatballs to sauce and simmer over low until done. (~twenty minutes? Sorry, wasn’t paying attention to time since I just use a meat thermometer.)
  4. Serve over egg noodles or rice.

Notes:

  • Knowing that the recipe sounded a bit bland and also because I just love it so much, I added about 1T sweet Hungarian paprika to the meat mix.
  • The sauce was too sweet and not tangy enough. It also lacked something. In the leftovers, I sprinkled some hot (HOT) chipotle powder into the sauce to taste and that helped quite a bit. In the future, I will add the chipotle powder to the meat mixture. I also think it could use a bit of balsamic vinegar for a bit of tang.
  • Also in the future, I think I will cook the meatballs in a skillet before adding them to the sauce, so that they form a nice crust.
  • All in all, it was a good recipe and of course I always appreciate a good Jewish recipe, not having grown up around much Jewish food. This is one for the book.

Checkmate

Because I hate to leave a post without a pic, especially after such a long break, here is one (not very good) that I took last weekend at the Bayview Farmer’s Market over on Whidbey Island. It’s a beautiful little market and they have this grand chess set that reminds me of Alice In Wonderland. I highly suggest taking the ferry ride over for a day if you’re in the area with nothing to do on a Saturday morning. Make sure to stop by Serene Farms’  stand for some delicious fresh jams or cookies (I’m partial to them, considering it is operated by my step-grandparents). Next head over to Langley and take a stroll down the boutique lined streets. If you go this weekend, you’ll even get to catch the Island Festival.

Happy Friday/Shabbat/Weekend!

