Passover is one of my favorite holidays. It combines tradition and history with food, wine, and good friends. What could be better than that? This year it will be extra special because we are hosting our first ever seder on the last night. (Traditionally, the first, second, and last nights of Pesach are made into a big deal.) That’s just over two weeks from now and there is so much planning to be done. I am happy to say that one decision has been made. We have a seder plate!

Seder Plate

After looking around a bit and finding some gorgeous seder plates, I decided to go the diy route (big surprise there). We found this setup at Target (pronounced Tar-Jay) and it was under $20, much better than the price tags that I was seeing on other seder plates and better than the disposable paper plate that we would have ended up with instead. My first inclination was to paint the underside of the ceramic, but I think I like it just the way it is.

And for my next trick, I’m going to embroider a matzah cover. Stay tuned!

For more information about Passover and it’s traditions, the Wikipedia article is pretty well written. And of course, feel free to ask any questions and I will do my best to answer them (although I am by no means an authority on the subject).

