I’ve been sewing up a storm this week. My poor, neglected apartment is more of a mess than usual, but you know what, I don’t care. It feels really good to be creating again.

Satchel

This is my new satchel. (Don’t you think that ‘satchel’ a nicer term than ‘messenger bag’?) For a while now, I’ve been wanting to make a new one as the red corduroy messenger bag that I’ve been carrying for years has become lumpy and cumborsome. Having had some time to think about it, I knew exactly what I needed and had a pretty good idea about how I wanted it to look.

Satchel

The fabric I used on the exterior was labelled ‘rodeo poplin’. I’m not really sure what that meant, though I suppose it would make a good western-style shirt. The teal color goes well with all of the colors that I usually wear, unlike my old bag. The interior is Linen/Morning Glory from Amy Butler’s Lotus line. You don’t see it here, but the pockets are lined in another fabric from Lotus, Cherry/Wall Flower. There are three pockets including th large front pocket with the pleating detail. The pleat was supposed to be asymmetric, but I fear that it is not enough to look intentional. The flap doesn’t have a closure, because I hate fighting velcro or snaps when I just need to slip something inside on the go. The dimensions are perfect to hold my study materials or a knitting project, but it’s not too large to carry those times when I just need my wallet and a shopping tote. I’m oh-so-happy! I couldn’t have asked for a better bag.

