Recently, my friend gave me the cookbook Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey: Desserts for the Serious Sweet Tooth. She said that she had known it was the perfect cookbook for me because it had chocolate and it [the layout] is cute (in a kitschy way). And she was right; I love it. Unfortunately, I was in the middle of packing and moving and was not able to try any of the recipes right away. Last weekend, in the midst of all of our housework, the mister and I were craving sweets. So, I thumbed through my new book and came to the recipe The Best One Bowl Chocolate Chunk Pecan Cookies.

Chocolate Pecan Chunk Cookies

At first, I was cynical about this recipe. I mean, come on, one bowl? To further my doubt, the recipe required melting the butter in the microwave in lieu of the traditional creaming with sugar method. Desperate as we were for some sugary goodness, I forged ahead anyways. And you know what? They were the best one bowl cookies that I’ve ever made. They even give my standard cookie recipe a run for its money. The toasted pecans were sweet and caramel-like. The cookies had the perfect balance of crunchiness and gooeyness (although, after sitting out overnight, they were a bit too crunchy for my taste). I initially baked up about a dozen, which was about half the batter. Those were gone within two days. The Mister, who typically has enough self-control for the both of us, couldn’t keep his hands away from them. That is a pretty big compliment, I think.

If you’d like to try them out, check out the lovely recipe over at DailyDelicious.

