Oh, me. I’m always wanting to get into new crafts. Actually, quilting is something that I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time. It is a natural combination of my mathematical and crafty interests. Somehow quilting kept getting put on the back-burner. Last November, I finally buckled down and took an introductory course. I never got around to mentioning it here or getting pics of my project, which is now at home at my parent’s house in Portland. I’ll be sure to get a pic when we go down in a few weeks.

Sonya's Quilt

I’ve worked on a few quilts since then and am finally going to show off one of them. This is Sonya’s quilt. Sonya is my mister’s niece and she enjoys going to the zoo. I used a cute flannel full of jungle animals on the backside and kept the front simple so that I could play with some stippling. Wasn’t I just saying how much chutzpah I have? I mean, a beginner quilter going free-motion? It’s a lot easier than it looks. Most of the fabric, the backing excluded, is from my stash. Gotta make room for more, you know.

I have three more small quilts to finish (mostly binding) before the mister will let me start another one and I’m itching to catch up with the quilt-along that Elizabeth is doing over at Oh, Fransson! Elizabeth’s tutorials are written with great detail. I especially enjoyed Color Basics, since that was an area that I’m a little lost with.  There is also a flickr group to watch, Mod Sampler Quilt-Along.

I forsee a lot of hand-sewing for me this week, which is not my favorite thing to do, but fabric shopping is the light at the end of the tunnel.

