Happy New Year!

For Russians, New Year’s Day is a big deal. It is celebrated similarly to Christmas, including a decorated tree, gifts, and even a Santa-like figure, Father Frost (Ded Moroz, which is an interesting fairy tale in itself). Last night, we gathered with the Mister’s family for a huge dinner, drinks, and a countdown to 2010. Later today, we will return to their house and exchange gifts.

All of our nieces and nephews have so many toys! Choosing gifts for them is very difficult because what more could a child want? So every year, I try to make something that will be more meaningful than the standard toy-store fare. Here are the gifts we’ll be giving to the Mister’s niece and nephew today:

New Years Gifts

The doll is based on the Black Apple doll pattern, though I was too lazy to enlarge it and print it out, so I drew my own. (How adorable is Emily and her style?!?) Her dress is Kaffe Fasset with two vintage pearl buttons at the neck. She also has a very warm brown capelet from a thick wool felt and tied with a cute turquoise ribbon. Her blue and white striped stockings are my favorite, though I didn’t get a very good pic of them.

The spaceship is based on this Rocket Man from The Long thread. I added a door with a plastic window and magnetic closure. Also, I just had to make both a male and a female astronaut. I have to admit that I am less proud of this than the doll. If I had time, then I would remake it entirely. It doesn’t stand up on its own, because I placed the fins too low and they aren’t strong enough to hold the weight of the body. Nonetheless, I am pretty sure that the kids will enjoy playing with it, and that is what really matters.

I hope everybody is having an equally lovely start to the new year!

Tune in Monday for details on a new contest!

