When I was a kid, I enjoyed the tradition of making New Year’s resolutions. My list usually included far-fetched entries like “become a ballerina”. As an adult making grand proclamations, even more realistic ones, never felt genuine to me. The few times that I tried, I felt like the punch-line of a joke when I gave up two weeks into January. So I no longer make resolutions.

That said, there are some goals that I would like to accomplish this year. The biggest one, the cliché resolution, is to lose weight and become more healthy. The emphasis for me is the healthy part. I enjoy activities like hiking and kayaking, but over the past few years things like that have become very difficult for me to do. My ultimate health goal is to have the strength and energy to participate in those activities again. Though, since I do hope to wear a wedding dress in the coming years, losing weight and being happy with the way that I look is also important. Today, I am beginning that change. I will let you know how it goes.

My other goal is to become a more prolific quilter. I have this skill, but I don’t have a lot to show for it. My house should be filled with quilts by now and it is not. So, by the end of the year, I would like to have made twelve quilts for me and for others. I’m not resolving to do that, not making such a formal commitment, because again I don’t want to set myself up for failure. I don’t think that I will be able to make one quilt every month. Sometimes things happen, especially with my eyes, and I can’t get to it. I will try.

I had such fun during last month’s giveaway, that I wanted to do it again. I  had wanted to make it in honor of my 100th post, but at the rate I am going I won’t get there until May. So, to celebrate my 95th post I am giving away (*drumroll, please*):

I’ve been waiting to get my hands on this book. So naturally as soon as I have it I am giving it away. Its worth it though, because I really enjoy making someone’s day. I also appreciate those of you who stick around reading my sporadically updated blog.

Comment here to enter. Tell me about resolutions that you made this year, about disastrous resolutions that you’ve made in the past, or about a non-resolution goal that you have. Earn a second entry on twitter by retweeting my message containing a link to this post. (Note: the second entry will only count if you have first commented on this post.) The contest will run through midnight next Sunday. I will announce a winner on Monday.

Good luck to all!

