This spring, I am teaching my first quilting class. Appropriately enough, it is a beginning quilting class. So, I’ve been busy putting together a prototype for the project that we will work on.

Quilting 101: Prototype

The pattern was quite simple. I think it will be a good few blocks for beginners to learn. There are two nine-patches, two courthouse steps, and then the more detailed nine-patch. The red and yellow blocks are from Kaffe Fasset fabrics. I don’t know what the blue striped fabric is, but I love it and need to go buy some more. It is sashed with a white organic cotton canvas. The binding is an Amy Butler home-dec weight blue and teal polka-dot. I really loved the binding fabric and the colors were perfect for the blocks, but it didn’t turn out as well as I had envisioned. Ah well, we live and we learn.

Quilting 101: Prototype

Overall, I’m rather pleased with how well this turned out. I’m going to hang it on a short little wall in our dining area, since I never use table runners. It is just the perfect bit of color for that corner.

If you or somebody that you know is in want of a beginning quilting class, email me (ahavajora gmail) for more information!

