Joanna at Stardust Shoes has been making some gorgeous leather satchels. They were so inspiring that I had to try my hand at one. This has been a busy week. I’m hosting a Tu B’Shvat seder tomorrow night, so I’ve been cleaning and meal planning and trying to finish a few projects around the house. Making a big leather mess was the last thing that I needed to do, but this project was calling me.

Never having sewn with leather and not wanting to invest too much money into the experiment, I bought an old leather coat from the thrift store and proceeded to tear it apart. From the dust, came this beautiful little tote.

Leather tote

The leather was actually quite easy to sew through. It did stick a bit to my metal presser foot. My teflon foot probably would have worked better, but it was two floors up and I was being lazy. The teal polkadot fabric goes quite well with the brown leather. And I really like the detail on the handles. I rolled the teal around to the front on one side before topstitching.

This bag was a trial before I cut into a nicer coat, which has leather as soft as butter. That project will have to wait until next week or so. I still have floors to clean and bread to bake…

Tu B’Shvat Sameach!

